3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 3

I was nominated today by a new friend and fellow blogger BEINGMEPRESENTLY  to complete this 3 day challenge. This is a great honor and will happily complete this challenge as well as nominate my three at the bottom of my blog. I was unsure of what quotes that I wanted to use, but then as I stood in front of the mirror, I realized what I wanted to share.

Today’s quote and inspiration comes from one of my favorite Christian bands, and I was blessed to have been able to meet them last year. It was a very tearful moment. They have so many great songs, but for today and for this challenge I will share only one. This one actually fits with my theme for today-being overwhelmed by life.

The song is called Just Be Held by Casting Crowns. I found a video that has both the song and the lyrics, which I find to be awesome. On their website, I also found a small story that relates to this song.

Description:

Mark Hall, Bernie Herms, Matthew West

“I was out with my students surfing in Florida once and we were just learning how to get up and how to do this thing. I never mastered it, but when I got the closest to getting on the board a wave hit me and I went rolling.  I rolled so many times that I realized I didn’t know where up was. I couldn’t figure out where the air was. The light was going everywhere and that was a terrifying feeling of no control (absolutely no control). I think when life’s storm hits us, that’s what we’re looking for. We’re looking for something we can grab onto and steady ourselves…we may even look at our faith that way. I need to grab onto God and steady myself, but what I’m finding even in our recent storm of life with our little girl Hope, and all the things that she’s been through medically, is that I just can’t grab a hold of something. What I’ve got to understand is that God is taking a hold of me. Instead of being the ‘fixer Daddy’ that grabs a hold of whatever I can and makes this work, I’ve got to understand that I’m already in His hands. I’m already being held and I’m already in His control and in His protection, even in the chaos. This song, to me, reminds me that I am being held by Him. As crazy as it is when I look around me, I’ve got to rest in that truth.”
I know that for me personally, much of this song I can relate to, but the first few lines really hit me when I first heard this song. “Hold it all together everybody needs you strong. But life hits you out of nowhere and barely leaves you holding on. When you’re tired of fighting, chained by your control. There’s freedom in surrender, lay it down and let it go. So when your on your knees and answers seem so far away, your not alone, stop holding on, and just be held. Your worlds’ not falling apart, its falling into place. I’m on throne, stop holding on and just be held. “
Nominations:

5 thoughts on “3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 3

Add yours

    1. You’re welcome. I really do appreciate that you nominated me and that this happened today. The past week has been a bit of a mess for me personally, so this challenge and this song was perfect to help me get out of the darkness that I’ve been in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

