Can someone explain this verse?

This verse was part of my devotionals today and I am a bit confused. If anyone can explain this to me I would appreciate it very much. Why is blessing a friend taken as a curse?

He that blesseth his friend with a loud voice, rising early in the morning, it shall be counted a curse to him.
Proverbs 27:14 KJV

http://bible.com/1/pro.27.14.KJV

About jazzyjenness

I'm the mother of three girls, a Grammy to two little girls, a girlfriend and we have a cat with many nick names, depending on his mood and activity, or lack thereof. I've been writing since I was about 8 or 9, and it is something that I love to do. When we read books, we do it for entertainment, escape, and education; the three E's. These are also the reasons why I write, to entertain, educate and escape. My desire is not just to do what I love, but I want to give hope and inspiration to others through my stories. Currently, I am working on obtaining my Master's degree in Creative Writing and hope to also become an instructor at my school one day and teach Fiction Workshop.
This entry was posted in Daily Verse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can someone explain this verse?

  1. This guy gets up real early in the morning, goes to the marketplace. He sees his friend and yells(in a very loud voice) ” Bless you my friend”. Everything in the marketplace stops, people turn to stare. His friends face turns red because of all the attention. This guy is not really blessing his friend, He is saying to everybody in the marketplace “see what a great person I am, I don’t forget to pay due diligence to people”. Pride? Arrogance? Maybe. Instead this guy should have walked up to his friend and blessed him in a normal, conversational voice. More personal that way. Does this help? Your friend Bill

    Liked by 1 person

    • jazzyjenness says:

      Bill,
      my apologies for the late response. Yes, this makes more sense. Thank you. I read somewhere in the bible about people drawing attention themselves and how it displeases God. I can’t remember if it was Jesus talking about the Pharisees or what, but I remember it had to do with boasting and being prideful. I really appreciate that you took the time to help me, Bill.
      God bless.
      Tiffany

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jazzyjenness says:

    Thank You Bill. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

