Review of Harbor of Light by Elle Scott

 

Elle Scott has done it again! Keeping me on the edge of my seat with unexpected twists and turns. As with “Ray of Light”, Ms. Scott’s writing allows us the readers to feel every sensation within the pages of this story. We feel sadness when the characters do, or anger, love, frustration and even horror. Another quality that I admire and appreciate with Ms. Scott’s storytelling ability is how she can flawlessly change from one character to another character’s point of view. Each chapter as with “Ray of Light” reveals who will be telling the story next. Who’s story we will be reading, feeling, and hearing? This adds to the smooth and flawless ability that Ms. Scott has in telling a story.
The intensity in “Harbor of Light” runs deep and strong. Throughout the story, I felt as if I was watching an action movie. Imagining myself in Serth City, the cabin by the Lake, The Fort, the river, Palladium, and other locations pertinent to the story. Ms. Scoot gives us enough of a description that allows us to see the scenes before us and again, I felt as if I was there in the kitchen with Abner and Kate eating the chocolate cheesecake batter. Another thing that I found intriguing in this sequel, was the introduction of a new character into the storyline. A character that by the end is still a bit mysterious but we have enough information this character to feel some sort of emotion for them.
In discussing characters, for those who have read “Ray of Light”, we began to get to know the characters as they developed throughout the story. In this sequel, new aspects of them arise within that in some cases are completely unexpected. We watch as many of these characters grow and find out things about themselves that they were not even aware of. This story like the other is more than just a YA story. More than a science-fiction story or dystopian story ab out a group of teens with different skills or gifts thrust quickly into adulthood and survival mode. It is a story of growth, of self-realization and learning what really matters in this life that we are given.
I could continue and implement clips of the story, but I feel that like me, you should come into this story without knowing anything in particular. That is what makes great stories. That is what keeps you guessing, intrigued, and wanting more.

4 thoughts on “Review of Harbor of Light by Elle Scott

Add yours

  1. Me too. 🙂
    As well, I hope that by sharing your blog on MS and your YouTube channel will help others. I have a friend/former classmate living in Tennessee I believe who has MS. I hope that she subscribes to your channel. Networking and word of mouth is such a vital tool for all of us no matter what we are trying to do in our lives.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑